To provide the best experiences, we use technologies like cookies to store and/or access device information. Consenting to these technologies will allow us to process data such as browsing behavior or unique IDs on this site. Not consenting or withdrawing consent, may adversely affect certain features and functions.
The technical storage or access is strictly necessary for the legitimate purpose of enabling the use of a specific service explicitly requested by the subscriber or user, or for the sole purpose of carrying out the transmission of a communication over an electronic communications network.
The technical storage or access is necessary for the legitimate purpose of storing preferences that are not requested by the subscriber or user.
The technical storage or access that is used exclusively for statistical purposes.
The technical storage or access that is used exclusively for anonymous statistical purposes. Without a subpoena, voluntary compliance on the part of your Internet Service Provider, or additional records from a third party, information stored or retrieved for this purpose alone cannot usually be used to identify you.
The technical storage or access is required to create user profiles to send advertising, or to track the user on a website or across several websites for similar marketing purposes.
I recognize your point about the Pirate not emphasizing sliders, but it seems hard to believe that moving from the AL to the NL doesn’t help a starting pitcher (Archer).
Also, the Pirates have decreased their fastball usage every month since the start of the season.
Let the debate of whether Lynn should take Gray’s spot in the rotation commence! That is an expensive mop-up arm that NYY acquired…
Not sure where else to post that there is no such thing as a caught stealing error (Baez 1st inning PIT game). Its a stolen base and an error on the throw. If an attempted caught stealing results in an overthrow (it happens all the time), its not called a caught stealing error. You can’t assume a tag would have been applied or anything like that. The error is if the runners advance, which they did. Players steal bases on PO attempts all the time. Players make bad throws on SB attempts all the time – neither are errors in their own right – you can’t assume anything on a steal attempt, kind of like a double play. CBS scoring actually had it right for a while, so some people noticed. Perhaps the scorekeeper will sober up and make the change. The initial scoring was even worse – I even saved a screen capture as it was the most absurd ruling I have ever seen. They charged Baez with a PO and CS even though he stole the base and no outs were recorded. I would even make the argument that Baez won the game in the first inning right there as he essentially stole 2 bases and moved the trailing runner from first to third and PIT promptly completely fell apart. Crazy to think he would not get awarded something there and that the scorer would be so spiteful as to try to credit Baez with a negative outcome.